Since 1634...

Our Story

It is from Florent BAUMARD's grandmother's side of the family that the present vineyard is linked to the past centuries. As early as 1634, in Rochefort, his ancestors were already cultivating vines; plots of land that are still on the property.

When the vineyard was reconstituted after phylloxera, they became grafted vine nurserymen. This secondary activity continued until the arrival of Jean BAUMARD in 1955.

A graduate in science, he was the real founder of the present wine estate. After training as an oenologist in Dijon and Bordeaux, he began to expand the vineyard by acquiring vineyards in the prestigious appellations of Anjou. In 1957, he bought six hectares in the Quarts de Chaume, then in 1968, he regrouped some fifteen hectares in Savennières.

He thus became the first winemaker in Anjou to cultivate vines on both banks of the Loire.

In the meantime, he was a professor of viticulture and oenology at the École Supérieure d'Agriculture et de Viticulture in Angers from 1955 to 1970. He was elected by his peers to the presidency of the Fédération Viticole de l'Anjou from 1971 to 1976 and in 1974 he revived the Union des Syndicats d'AOC du Val de Loire. Gradually retiring from business since 1990, he created a very popular oenology course.

Florent BAUMARD returned to the family business in 1987. After completing his secondary education in literature, enriched by two years spent in England and the United States, he obtained a higher technician diploma in viticulture and oenology. Expression of the terroir and technical mastery remain the watchwords of the estate. The result is elegant wines with an explosion of aromas, a very homogeneous range.

The fruit in its purity

Pick the best grapes and put them in the bottle
If the grapes are pressed too quickly or too hard, the intrinsic qualities of the fruit are lost. Picking and pressing are essential steps in the making of our wines. History, vineyard management, wine making, values and convictions, discover the Domaine des Baumard.

Vineyard management

Respectful of the environment and people, the Domaine des Baumard has been practicing sustainable viticulture since the end of the 1950s:
  • Alternating tillage and grassing.
  • Tall and wide vines (VHL).
  • Respect for natural balances and prophylaxis.
  • Mastery of applications.
  • Effluent management.

Current viticultural practices in France prescribe :

  • High vine density = better quality fruit = better quality wine.
  • Fewer leaves = less vigour = more energy diverted to improve fruit quality.

While this is true in some cases, there are other factors that, when added together, have a greater impact on overall grape quality than planting density alone.

The vineyard management, as we have chosen it, provides us with a modular system that allows us to adapt to annual and multi-annual climatic variations. At the same time, we limit the impact of our work on the environment.

The VHL management method allows for a "large exposed leaf area" for better ripening of the grapes, improves the structure of the soil and restores a superior biological and agronomic potential, the purpose of which is to maintain the terroir.

This spacing (3m wide x 2m high) is more commonly seen in other parts of the world, but rarely in France.

The grapes are harvested by hand in shallow boxes.

The Savennières, Coteaux du Layon and Quarts de Chaume are subject to successive selection. The bunches are then quickly transported to the press in order to preserve the physical qualities of the grapes.

Harvesting and winemaking

There are many ways to make white wine, the method we have chosen corresponds to the style of wine we are trying to produce.

Fine, elegant, digestible wines, suitable for ageing.

After the work of selecting the grapes in the vineyard, what seems most important to us is the art of pressing.

Our pickers are trained to select the best bunches at harvest time, but Chenin Blanc ripens unevenly, and on the same bunch there are often grapes of different maturity.

We then rely on science and physics to perfect manual selection.

The aim is to press the grapes without extracting too much tannin and to eliminate any vegetable or earthy matter from the final juice.

Only a delicate and fractioned pressing allows the juice of the ripest grapes to be extracted and separated from the juice of the less ripe berries, which have a firmer skin and flesh.

At no point in our winemaking process (fermentation, aging) does the grape juice, or the finished wine, come into contact with wood or other inputs.

We believe that the true expression of Chenin Blanc comes from the pure grape juice, without external factors affecting the taste of the wine and its origin.

The fruit in its purity.

Values and beliefs

Our main objective is to produce unique and high quality wines. We strive to do this with respect to :

  • The environment - both in our daily lives and for future generations.
  • People - both our employees and our customers.
  • From the Terroir Angevin - with its rich history and traditions as a wine region.
  • The vintage - and its meteorological specificities.

The Logis de la Giraudière

In the heart of the Loire Valley, 20 kilometres southwest of Angers, we welcome you to the Logis de la Giraudière, a family estate and manor house dating from the end of the 18th century, where you can discover the property and taste our wines.

 Please contact us to organise your visit!

Florent Baumard

Florent Baumard irritates conservatives of all stripes, and particularly the champions of political correctness in viticulture and winemaking, from the gentle fools of good and beneficial nature to the great manipulators of (authentic) wine, an expression as stupid, you will admit, as that of (authentic) music or painting! His fault is to believe in progress, in science (but with a conscience), and to make wines in his own image, impeccable, well-mannered, in short not rebellious and good company. This does not preclude audacity. Mozart is much more revolutionary than Presley.

Bettane & Desseauve - le Monde 2

FREE delivery to the Point Relais

from €150

FREE home delivery

from 12 bottles

Anti-crash packaging

Cardboard or wooden box

100% secure payment

BNP Paribas

Customer Service

+33 2 41 78 70 03

Depuis 1634...

Notre Histoire

C’est du côté de la famille grand maternelle de Florent BAUMARD que le vignoble actuel est relié aux siècles passés. Dès 1634, à Rochefort, ses ancêtres cultivaient déjà la vigne ; parcelles qui sont toujours sur la propriété.

Au moment de la reconstitution du vignoble après le phylloxéra, ils devinrent pépiniéristes en plants de vigne greffés. Cette activité accessoire perdura jusqu’à l’arrivée de Jean BAUMARD en 1955.

Licencié ès Sciences, il fut le réel fondateur du Domaine viticole actuel. Après une formation d’œnologue à Dijon et à Bordeaux, il entreprend d’agrandir le vignoble par des acquisitions dans les appellations prestigieuses de l’Anjou. En 1957, il achète six hectares dans les Quarts de Chaume, puis en 1968, il remembre une quinzaine d’hectares à Savennières.

Il devient ainsi le premier vigneron de l’Anjou à cultiver la vigne sur les deux rives de la Loire.

Entre-temps, il est professeur de viticulture et d’œnologie à l’École Supérieure d’Agriculture et de Viticulture d’Angers, de 1955 à 1970. Il est porté par ses pairs à la présidence de la Fédération Viticole de l’Anjou de 1971 à 1976 et redonne vie en 1974 à l’Union des Syndicats d’AOC du Val de Loire. Se retirant progressivement des affaires depuis 1990, il crée alors un cours d’œnologie très suivi.

Florent BAUMARD revient sur l’exploitation familiale en 1987. Après des études secondaires littéraires enrichies de deux années passées en Angleterre et aux États-Unis, il obtient un diplôme de technicien supérieur en viticulture et oenologie. Expression du terroir et maitrise technique restent les mots d’ordre du domaine. Le résultat, des vins élégants avec une explosion d’arômes, une gamme très homogène.

Le fruit dans sa pureté

Cueillir le plus beau raisin et le mettre dans la bouteille 
Si on presse le raisin trop vite ou trop fort, on perd les qualités intrinsèques du fruit. La cueillette, le pressurage sont des étapes essentielles dans l’élaboration de nos vins. Histoire, conduite du vignoble, vinification, valeurs et convictions, découvrez le Domaine des Baumard.

Conduite du vignoble

Respectueux de l’environnement et des hommes, le Domaine des Baumard pratique une viticulture durable depuis la fin des années 50 :
  • Alternance du travail du sol et de l’enherbement.
  • Vignes hautes et larges (VHL).
  • Respect des équilibres naturels et prophylaxie.
  • Maîtrise des applications.
  • Gestion des effluents.

Les pratiques viticoles courantes en France prescrivent :

  • Densité de vigne élevée = Fruit de meilleure qualité = Vin de meilleure qualité.
  • Moins de feuilles = moins de vigueur = plus d’énergie détournée pour améliorer la qualité des fruits.

Bien que cela soit vrai dans certains cas, il existe d’autres facteurs qui, une fois cumulés, ont un impact plus élevé sur la qualité globale du raisin que la densité de plantation seule.

La conduite du vignoble, telle que nous l’avons choisie, nous fournit un système modulaire qui permet une adaptation aux variations climatiques annuelles, et  pluriannuelles. Tout en limitant simultanément l’impact de notre travail sur l’environnement.

Le mode de conduite VHL permet une « grande surface foliaire exposée » pour une meilleure maturation des grappes, améliore la structure des sols et leur restitue un potentiel biologique et agronomique supérieur, dont la finalité est le maintien du terroir.

Cet espacement (3 m de largeur x 2 m de hauteur) est vu plus couramment dans d’autres régions du monde, mais rarement en France.

Les vendanges sont manuelles en caissettes peu profondes.

Les Savennières, les Coteaux du Layon et le Quarts de Chaume font l’objet de tries successives. Les grappes sont ensuite transportées rapidement vers le pressoir afin de préserver au mieux les qualités physiques du raisin.

Récolte et vinification

Il y a de multiples façons de faire le vin blanc, la méthode que nous avons choisie correspond au style de vin que nous cherchons à produire.

Des vins fins, élégants, digestes et aptes au vieillissement.

Après le travail de sélection des raisins dans le vignoble, ce qui nous semble le plus important est l’art du pressurage.

Nos vendangeurs sont formés pour sélectionner les meilleures grappes lors de la récolte, mais le chenin blanc mûrit de façon inégale, et sur une même grappe il y a souvent des raisins de maturité différente.

Nous nous appuyons alors sur la science et la physique pour perfectionner la sélection manuelle.

L’objectif est de presser le raisin sans en extraire trop les tanins et d’éliminer toute matière végétale, ou terreuse, du jus final.

Seul un pressurage délicat et fractionné permet d’extraire le jus des raisins les plus mûrs et de les séparer du jus des baies les moins mûres, qui ont une peau et une chair plus ferme.

À aucun moment de notre processus de vinification (fermentation, vieillissement) le jus de raisin, ou le vin fini, n’entre en contact avec le bois ou autres intrants.

Nous pensons que la véritable expression du chenin blanc provient du jus de raisin pur, sans facteurs extérieurs affectant le goût du vin et son origine.

Le fruit dans sa pureté.

Valeurs et convictions

Notre objectif principal est de produire des vins uniques et de haute qualité. Nous nous efforçons de le faire dans le respect de : 

  • L’environnement – à la fois au quotidien et pour les générations à venir.
  • Des Hommes – à la fois nos collaborateurs et nos clients.
  • Du Terroir Angevin – avec sa riche histoire et ses traditions en tant que région viticole.
  • Du millésime – et ses spécificités météorologiques.

Le Logis de la Giraudière

Au coeur de la vallée de la Loire, à 20 kilomètres au sud ouest d’Angers, c’est au Logis de la Giraudière, propriété familiale et gentilhommière de la fin du XVIIIème siècle que nous vous accueillons pour découvrir la propriété et déguster nos vins.

 Pensez à nous contacter pour organiser votre visite !

Florent Baumard

Florent Baumard agace prodigieusement les conservateurs de tout poil, et particulièrement les champions du politiquement correct en viticulture et vinification, des doux dingues de la nature bonne et bienfaisante aux grands manipulateurs du vin (authentique), expression aussi stupide, vous l’avouerez, que celle de musique ou de peinture (authentique)!  Son tort, c’est de croire au progrès, à la science (mais avec conscience), et de faire des vins à son image, impeccables, bien élevés, bref non rebelles et de bonne compagnie. Ce qui n’interdit pas l’audace. Mozart, c’est bien plus révolutionnaire que Presley.

Bettane & Desseauve - le Monde 2

Livraison Point Relais GRATUITE

à partir de 150 €

Livraison à domicile GRATUITE

à partir de 12 bouteilles

Emballage Anti-casse

Carton ou Caisse Bois

Paiement 100% sécurisé

BNP Paribas

Service Client

+33 2 41 78 70 03